Necessary Luxuries

Yes, I’ve heard it all before:

“You’re starting a business now? In this economy?”
“It looks like you have a lot of competition out there.”
“Are you crazy?”

(OK, that last one I heard in my own head, but it still counts.) All I can say is: “yes”, “I know”, and “could be”. But none of that matters. I’ve decided that I want to jump in, eyes wide open, and just see what happens. I’m learning a lot along the way, from liability insurance to HTML coding, and so it can’t be a total waste of time (and money).

But wait, here is some good news: Forbes.com reports that spending on personal care products is up! It’s an interesting article that really got me thinking about what I personally find to be necessary versus a luxury. The line can be blurry.

But right there on the list is “personal care” items, which had a double-digit sales increase last year. So it looks like I’ve lucked upon one sector that may actually benefit from a downturn in the economy (well, a girl can dream, can’t she?). OK, at least, it looks like the downturn may not have as huge an impact as in, say, car manufacturing or fine art. That’s good enough for now.

4 thoughts on “Necessary Luxuries

  1. I’m enjoying reading your blog of your last year or so in business. I’ve had these same thoughts in my head too. “Am I crazy to think about starting a business in this economy?” The truth is, I feel useless. I lost my job 2/15/10 and still haven’t found a job in a field (accounting) that is supposed to be recession proof.

    You’ve really inspired me to keep putting together a business plan. Thank you! I’m so glad to see that you are doing well and following your creative passion.

    Amber

    • I’m SO glad that you’re finding my blog helpful, Amber!

      Starting something new is always a little scary. But I try to remember that I am in control of it, and I get to decide (or change) the direction it goes. It takes effort. But if you love what you do, it’s the best feeling!

      Best of luck!

  2. Thank you Ruth. I didn’t go to bed until 4 am last night. I had to actually force myself to stop reading. I can’t say I’ve ever done that with Accounting textbooks, which actually but me to sleep!!! 🙂

    I would love to find a class here in the Seattle area, but can’t seem to find any. After everything I’ve read, I could probably do it on my own, but would feel better about learning from a more experienced person, hands-on. Surely I’ll find somebody.

    Also, I read on one of your other posts that you looked into doing the ecofriendly shrink wrap. Did you implement it and if so, did the soaps sweat in the package or melt when heating the shrink wrap?

    Amber

    • It’s a bit of a drive, but there’s always Otion up in Bellingham, WA. Maybe you could make a weekend of it. Or if you ever make it down to the SF Bay area, look me up at The Nova Studio. 😉

      I do indeed use the Biolefin shrinkwrap. You can see how it looks on my store website. Just scroll through the soap photos on any of the product pages. There was no sweating (I only make CP soap, so sweating is not usually a problem) and the heating to shrink takes just about 5 seconds per bar, so they never get very hot.

What's on your mind?

