Looking back on Sirona Springs in 2009

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”false” link=”term=business+graph&iid=275267″ src=”0271/4ec15580-f988-447b-8e40-f289bb5666fe.jpg?adImageId=8771729&imageId=275267″ width=”380″ height=”254″ /]After a surprisingly busy holiday season, I’m ready to pronounce my first full year in business a resounding success! No, I haven’t done the books yet, and I can’t tell you if we’re in the black for the year (my overall sense is that we’re not). But I’ve decided to measure success with a different yardstick: progress.

The business (and my soapmaking skills) has continued to grow during 2009, and I’m happy with that. I’ve added quite a few new soaps, and learned which ones are not worth keeping around. I tried different selling venues: website, house party, consignment. And at mid-year, I started teaching soapmaking at The Nova Studio, something that was never in the business plan, but that has been energizing and a source of inspiration. Together, I’m very happy with the way that our first year has turned out. I owe a big THANK YOU to all of the customers and students that have contributed to this year’s success.

Looking forward, my goals for 2010 include increasing production while becoming more efficient, adding some new options for ordering soap (look out for “custom” ordering soon!) and adding wholesale accounts to my repertoire of sales venues (there are a few local shops that I think would be great).

So by the end of this year, we may come out in the black, and that would be super. But what I really hope for are more new opportunities and lots more progress!

How do you measure success and was 2009 successful for you? What are your goals for the new year?

__________________________________________________________

Don’t miss a post! Sign up for email delivery, an RSS feed or become a Facebook Fan.

One thought on “Looking back on Sirona Springs in 2009

  1. Pingback: When one batch is not enough… « The Sirona Springs Blog

What's on your mind?

