Soapy Cupcakes

My latest soap experiment was inspired by the many cute cupcake soaps that I’ve been noticing lately.

First, this is the current wallpaper photo on my computer. I see it all day long and never tire of it. It is from Debbie Chialtas’ upcoming book “The Art of Soap”, to be released this fall.ย  And yes folks, those are soap!(By the way, want to have this photo as your wallpaper, too? Just sign up for Debbie’s The Art of Soap newsletter and you too can drool all over your keyboard!)

And a while back I came across this guest blog post by Erin Pikor of Naiad Soap Arts. Not only were the cupcakes adorable, Erin included a tutorial on how to make them! Sweet!

So I got myself some disposable cake decorating bags and stainless steel tips. (Funny how I’ve never had the urge to decorate an actual cake like this. But if it’s soap, I’ll all over it. Go figure.) I also used a silicone mini muffin pan that I already had for making solid lotion bars. My plan is to make little mini cupcakes that can be used as guest soaps.

And out they popped yesterday!


I’m quite pleased with these little cuties. The “frosting” was very easy to work with once I had it at the right thickness and it has totally held its shape. I can’t wait to practice some more with different tips and ways to pipe the top on. And I’ll definitely be adding some body safe glitter or maybe some colorful jojoba beads (they look just like sprinkles!). This opens up so much opportunity for cuteness!


Do you like soap that looks edible? Cupcakes, cake slices, chocolate truffles? Or is it too hard to keep yourself from taking a bite? ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Soapy Cupcakes

What's on your mind?

