Getting My Business in Shape!

Most folks around this time of year are thinking about Halloween, football and autumn leaves. But if you, like me, have a handmade soap business, you’re already thinking about the December holiday shopping season. That’s why the timing couldn’t be better for The Nova Studio’s upcoming Bath and Body Business Boot Camp with Marla Bosworth on October 1 through October 4, 2010! A few spots are still available, but I’m already signed up and looking forward to learning all I can to make this the best year yet for my business.

Marla Bosworth is the CEO and President of Back Porch Soap Company and has extensive experience in marketing, market research and manufacturing. She will be teaching this special one-time series of topics that all boil down to helping entrepreneurs focus and grow their business. I’m really excited about being able to spend time with someone so knowledgeable about my kind of business!

Check out these topics that will be covered:

How To Differentiate Your Business in a Competitive Market
A quick Google search of “handmade soap” just got me 493,000 results! Yikes! A bath and body business definitely has to be able to stand out from that crowd if it is going to succeed. Marla will show students how to spot trends and opportunities for growth.

How to Run a Successful Bath & Body Business
I don’t have a huge amount of time to commit to my business (having other family responsibilities that tug at me for attention), so I’m looking forward to getting some advice on how to work smarter and more efficiently day-to-day.

Stand Out, Sell Out: Powerful Branding to Build Sales
A successful brand communicates quickly to a customer what a great product you have. Marla will be helping students understand and develop their own brands by looking at some success stories and applying those strategies to our own fledgling businesses!

Internet Marketing: How To Grow Online Sales Without Spending a Dime
This topic is right up my alley. I have a website and use it as my main retail site, but it hasn’t been getting as much attention as I’d like. I’m sure I’ll be putting Marla’s ideas for more website traffic into action right away!

The Beauty of High Profit Margin Products
Profit! That’s the name of the game, right? But are my products priced right? Am I making as much profit as I can? I don’t know, but I’ll be sitting up and paying extra attention to this topic for sure.

Hands-on High Profit Workshop: Natural Home Fragrances
Yay! We get to make stuff: a home fragrance reed diffuser, car aromatherapy refresher, pillow pack of fragranced sea salt crystals and aromatherapy spray. Natural home fragrances is one of those trends that Marla will be telling us about, so I’m sure learning to make these will be so helpful.

Raising the Bar High on Retail Sales
Are you positioned for effective retail sales this holiday season? If increasing overall sales is one of your goals (and really, who doesn’t want that?), this part of the Boot Camp will give you clear directions on how to improve upon your current tactics.

Successful and Profitable Wholesaling & Trade Shows
If I want to play with the big boys and girls, I know I’ll have to increase the wholesale side of my business. Truth be told, this part is probably the scariest for me. Approaching retailers? Selling myself as well as my product? I don’t have too much experience there. Luckily, Marla will be sharing what she has learned from her experience of selling her products to Whole Foods and more than 200 retail boutiques and spas worldwide!

At the end of this 4-Day Business Boot Camp, I’m sure I’ll have lots of ideas and techniques to implement. With all this great information, I bet this upcoming fourth quarter will be the best one yet for my business. Only a few spots remain for this one-time series, so register soon if you too are looking to grow your business!

Full disclosure: I have a business relationship with The Nova Studio (I teach several classes there) but for this Boot Camp I’ll definitely be a student with much to learn!

8 thoughts on “Getting My Business in Shape!

  1. Thanks for this post Ruth of what you are looking forward to in this Business Boot Camp. I do a lot of things well, but so many areas of my business are lacking. That’s where Marla comes in. She’s great at all those things and I can’t wait to host her in The Nova Studio! I just picked up a projector, screen & flip chart easel today for her presentations. That’s right, we aren’t joking around – serious Business Owners only should apply 🙂

What's on your mind?

