Personalized Wall Art with Electrical Tape

Do you like to just make stuff? Just for the challenge or fun of it? Then you must check out Instructables.com. The site describes itself as “a web-based documentation platform where passionate people share what they do and how they do it.” It’s simply a place to find out how to do just about anything. Regular ol’ creative people (like you, maybe?) post “instructables” explaining and illustrating how to make, bake or grow things. From homemade Reese’s cups to a fusion reactor, you’re sure to find something that you never knew you wanted to make!

I like browsing through the instructables just for entertainment. It’s fascinating to see what other people spend their free time doing. While browsing one day a few months ago I was inspired by this wall art project using electrical tape. It’s very modern-looking and reminiscent of the work of artist Piet Mondrian. (Some of you may be aware of my recent Mondrian fascination.)

I really liked this idea for the loooong hallway in our house. I had been looking for some way to decorate the walls without hanging anything (because we still get little ones occasionally running through the hall chasing something or other).

So I took the basic concept but changed it a little. Instead of using colored blocks bordered by black tape, I used color family photos framed by brown tape (since my hallway is painted a tan color). I printed all the photos myself on photo paper and “hung” them over the course of several days. The hardest part was just deciding on which photos to use and balancing out the composition.


I love the way it turned out! It feels like my hallway is an art gallery!
 

So, if you want to discover how to make something cool, just browse Instructables.com or sign up for their newsletter and get great ideas sent right to your inbox!

What are you going to make?

One thought on “Personalized Wall Art with Electrical Tape

  1. Pingback: My DIY: It’s not just for soap! « The Sirona Springs Blog

What's on your mind?

