Soy Milk Soap Surprise

So this is the weekend when I have to make a bunch of soap for my upcoming new classes at The Nova Studio. Today was the day to make all the milk soaps that the students will be taking home. I have to do it this weekend so that they will be cured in time for the class. (Soapmaking has taught me lots of things; planning ahead is definitely one of them.)

I started with what I thought was going to be the easiest: the soy milk soap. I had made a small batch before with Trader Joe’s brand soy milk and it turned out great. Easy peasy, no problemo. This time I upped it to 4 pounds of soap, and tried a different soy milk that I got at Whole Foods. So, of course, something went wrong. (Take note kids: don’t try something new when you are scaling up.)

It's hard to see in this photo, but the texture for a long time was gloppy and separated.

As soon as I added the lye/milk solution to the oils, I knew something was wrong. It didn’t want to mix at all. It was like it was resisting being blended. It actually got a little stringy and for a minute there I was afraid that it was just going to stay separated. I finally beat it into submission, but it still looked wrong; kind of …rubbery. I decided to not add my precious essential oils and just pour it into the mold and see what happens. It sits in the refrigerator now, doing who knows what. We’ll see tomorrow.

I racked my brains trying to remember if maybe I did something wrong, mismeasured or something. But I don’t think so. I think it’s just that not all soy milks are the same. This one, ironically, has the simpler list of ingredients: filtered water and organic soy beans. Maybe it’s something in the water?

Oh, well. It’s back to Trader Joe’s soy milk for me. But I’ll have to make that one tomorrow. I’m done for today.

3 thoughts on “Soy Milk Soap Surprise

  1. Who would have guessed that a simpler soy milk would cause problems?? I certainly wouldn’t have. At least you’ve saved your precious essential oils! Maybe it needs to be hot processed? Let us know how it turns out!

  2. Pingback: Soy Milk Soap ends in Separation « The Sirona Springs Blog

What's on your mind?

