Soy Milk Soap ends in Separation

Well, that was a first. I have never before had to put on gloves and goggles to unmold a batch of soap. But as soon as I saw this batch, I suspected that it was going to be ugly.

Quick recap: yesterday I was just minding my own business, making a batch of soap with soy milk. I’d done it before, except not with this particular brand of soy milk. So this time, the soap did not behave as usual, and instead refused to really blend together. I poured it anyway (into a 3 pound mold and a 1 pound mold) and waited until today to see what happened.

What happened is that it separated. That is, not all of the oils and lye blended together, so not all of the mixture became soap. It’s like mixing oil and vinegar to get salad dressing. Except I got mostly salad dressing, with a bit of oil and vinegar left over. I mean, a bit of oil and caustic, nasty lye where it doesn’t belong!

Click on any image to see it up-close and personal.

Separated soy milk soap

This is just part of this 4 pound batch. That layer of liquid on the top of the loaf was my first clue. Note the puddle of liquid pooling along the bottom of the loaf.

Separated soy milk soap

Here's a clear view of the odd texture, and oozing liquid everywhere. Note the crumbling at the edges and bottom of the loaf.

Separated soy milk soap

Not that there was any doubt, but I tested the liquid with some phenolphthalein. That shocking pink color means lye.

I’m not really too upset about it. I have to admit that I was a bit curious to see what it would end up looking like. That’s the scientist in me. But my curiosity is satisfied now.  I’d rather never see that again, thank you very much.

So, do any of my soapmaking readers think that if I had hot processed this right away I might have saved it? I’ve never tried anything like that before, so I’m not sure.

That reminds me that I should really get a crockpot for soapmaking. 😉

9 thoughts on “Soy Milk Soap ends in Separation

  1. Yup…. de ja vu!! That has happened to me before as well… and I immediately chunk it down, grate it and throw it in a crock pot… it can be saved… add some more goat milk in my case.. toss in some oatmeal. I usually end up calling it my “rustic” soap… turns out to be a wonderful bar!

    Yup.. I think you should invest in a crock pot…. just in case! ;O)

  2. What a mess! I was remembering another bit of advice: If you see the soap trying to separate, even just warming the soap pot on the stove top as you blend can do wonders. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Redemption of the Soy Milk Soap « The Sirona Springs Blog

What's on your mind?

