Gluten Free Dish Soap?

S O A P letters on wall at studioIn the field of consumer products, many companies are desperate to stand out from the crowd, & sometimes slapping some buzz words on the label can make a difference to the bottom line.

But does something as banal as soap really need to be gluten free? The answer is a resounding “maybe.”

Many with gluten sensitivities find that any personal care product with wheat byproducts in it has the potential to cause problems. Things like body soap, toothpaste, lotion, shampoo and body wash can all cause skin reactions in those who are particularly sensitive to gluten. For them, maybe it’s better to be safe than sorry.

But dish soap is rinsed off your dishes before they’re used. So chances are, even if dish soap regularly included gluten contamination (which it doesn’t), it still would be unlikely to cause a problem. Adding a great big “Gluten Free!” on dish soap seems like just another attempt at latching onto a trend.

Read more about the issue on The Daily Beast.

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Dish Soap?

  1. I know I get asked quite frequently if my soaps are gluten free. I didn’t think too much about it until a friend used my honey oat and had a reaction to it. She said “You didn’t use gluten free oats?” I didn’t even know there was such but I sure do now!

What's on your mind?